ICAR 2018 Chamonix | International Commission for Alpine Rescue
chargement

Mountain rescue in France


Mountain rescue in France is for the most part a public service conducted by government agencies. These include the police mountain units of the Compagnies Républicaines de Sécurité (CRS), the gendarme mountain and high mountain groups (PGM and PGHM) and the mountain group of the fire and rescue service (GMSP). They are accompanied by emergency doctors who have been trained in mountain rescue techniques.


There are 22 regions in France where mountain rescue services operate. In some areas two or three rescue services take turns to provide cover on a weekly basis. In other areas the territory has been divided into different zones which are covered by separate services. Some of these zones are covered by mixed service teams. Rescues carried out by these services are financed by the government and free to members of the public. 

Rescues in ski resorts, however, are mostly carried out by the ski patrol service which is under the authority of the town hall. These rescues must be paid for by the user, with prices being set by the local council.



The history of mountain rescue in France


France’s mountain rescue teams have become increasingly professionalised over the past 60 years.


Towards the end of the 19th century, voluntary rescue teams were formed in many areas. These were comprised of local mountaineers and mountain guides. However, the difficulty of organising some rescue missions, most notably the failed operation to rescue Jean Vincendon and François Henry on Mont Blanc during the winter of 1956-57, led to the professionalisation of mountain rescue. 


In 1958, the minister for home affairs delegated the responsibility for mountain rescue to regional governors, who used existing structures to provide permanent cover. Haute Savoie is the only French department where voluntary teams still play a major role. They support professional teams during terrestrial rescue operations and avalanche searches. Some, such as La Chamoniarde, also manage the emergency radio networks and are involved in accident prevention.


Training

Gendarmes and police rescuers follow similar training courses which last about 40 weeks. The fire and rescue service course is modular and adapted to local requirements.

Every rescue worker follows a general training programme which qualifies them to participate in all types of mountain rescue operation, whether that be a helicopter rescue or a canyon descent.

Helicopters

Helicopters are provided by the air branch of the Gendarmerie Nationale or the Sécurité Civile. In some cases, private helicopters may be called upon to provide additional cover.

A standard rescue team is composed of a pilot, a winch operator, two rescue workers and an emergency doctor.

Medical personnel

75% of rescue operations require the provision of medical treatment. In France, this is carried out by doctors who take turns to provide permanent cover. As well as being fully-qualified emergency doctors, they must follow a mountain rescue course which lasts a minimum of four weeks. Once qualified, they have to participate in continued professional development courses.

Some stats

In 2017, 1513 rescues were carried out in the Haute-Savoie department of France. 


Hiking is the activity that generates the most rescues, followed by mountain-biking and alpine climbing (10% each). Rescues for para/hang gliding and ski-touring incidents are only half as frequent. Public service rescues in ski resorts, requested either by ski patrols or members of the public, amount to approximately 20% of the annual total.


In 2017, 205 people died before, during or after a rescue operation. This figure has remained stable for a long time, despite an increase in the number of participants in mountain sports. This is in large part due to the effectiveness of the mountain rescue services, and the work that is being done in accident prevention.

ICAR 2018 Chamonix | Commission Internationale du Secours Alpin
chargement

Le secours en montagne en France


En France, le secours en montagne est organisé majoritairement par l’Etat. La police, avec les unités montagne des Compagnies Républicaines de Sécurité (CRS), les Pelotons de Gendarmerie de (Haute) Montagne (PGHM ou PGM), et le Groupe Montagne des Sapeurs-Pompiers (GMSP) se partagent cette mission. Ils sont accompagnés par des médecins urgentistes hospitaliers formés au secours en montagne.



La France compte 22 départements avec une organisation pour le secours en montagne. Sur l’ensemble des massifs et selon les départements, les services de secours interviennent soit en alternance hebdomadaire, soit en se répartissant le territoire, soit en mixité. Ce service public est gratuit pour les personnes secourues, il est pris en charge par l’État. Les domaines skiables constituent la seule exception. Les pisteurs-secouristes, sous la responsabilité de la commune, proposent des prestations privées de secours et d'évacuation qui peuvent donner lieu à facturation.


Professionnalisation continue


L’histoire a façonné cette organisation des secours.


A la fin du 19e siècle, les « Sociétés de secours », bénévoles, ont progressivement vu le jour, constituées de guides de montagne et de montagnards locaux. Les difficultés d’organisation rencontrées lors de plusieurs opérations de sauvetage, notamment le décès dramatique de deux jeunes alpinistes, Jean Vincendon et François Henry, sur le Mont Blanc au cours de l’hiver 56-57, ont conduit à la professionnalisation des secours.


Ainsi, en 1958 par la circulaire du 21 août, le ministre de l’intérieur confie l’organisation du secours en montagne aux préfets. Ces derniers ont pris la direction des acteurs en place, définissant leur rôle opérationnel. La Haute-Savoie est le seul département dans lequel les Sociétés de secours en Montagne jouent encore un rôle majeur. Elles épaulent les sauveteurs professionnels, venant en renfort à l’occasion d’opérations terrestres ou de recherche en avalanches. Elles gèrent pour certaines, comme La Chamoniarde, les réseaux radios d’alerte et de secours en montagne et s’implique dans la prévention des risques en montagne.




Formation

Gendarmes et CRS suivent une formation similaire de sauvetage, qui dure une quarantaine de semaines. La formation des sapeurs-pompiers, modulaire, répond aux exigences auxquelles les secouristes doivent faire face localement.

Indépendamment de l’organisation, ils disposent tous d’une formation généraliste qui les qualifie pour tous les types d’interventions. Ainsi, leurs compétences leur permettent d’effectuer une opération héliportée ou de partir dans un canyon.


Moyens héliportés et interventions

Les hélicoptères nécessaires aux interventions peuvent être mis à disposition soit par les sections aériennes de la Gendarmerie nationale, soit par la Sécurité Civile. Le cas échéant, des entreprises privées peuvent être appelées en renfort et engager des hélicoptères supplémentaires. 

Un équipage est composé d’un pilote, d’un mécanicien treuilliste, de deux secouristes et d’un médecin du secours en montagne.

Médicalisation des interventions

75% des missions de secours nécessitent une médicalisation. En France, des médecins spécialisés en médecine d’urgence assurent des permanences dans les bases de secours. Ils ont, en plus de leur formation médicale, une formation initiale spécifique au secours en montagne de 4 semaines au minimum. Puis une formation continue. 

Quelques chiffres

En 2017, la Haute-Savoie a lancé 1513 opérations de secours. 


La randonnée représente l’activité sportive qui génère le plus de travail pour les secouristes. Viennent ensuite deux disciplines ex æquo : le VTT et l’alpinisme (respectivement 10%). Les parapentistes et adeptes du deltaplane ainsi que les skieurs de randonnée impliquent moitié moins de sauvetage. Les interventions des services publics pour les activités de glisse sur neige dans le périmètre des domaines skiables, appelés par les services des pistes ou indépendamment, comptent pour environ 20% du total annuel.

En 2017, en France, 205 personnes secourues sont décédées. Si l’on examine les décès sur une longue période, les chiffres restent relativement constants, alors que le nombre de pratiquants des sports de montagne augmente. Ceci s’explique notamment par l’efficacité du secours en montagne et l’important travail de prévention.